2015 Sundance Film Festival Program will be announced in mid-December. Enjoy 2014 Festival Program below.

+ Connect with this Event
Cold in July
    2014, 109 minutes, color, U.S.A., U.S. Dramatic
    How can a split-second decision change your life? While investigating noises in his house one balmy Texas night in 1989, Richard Dane puts a bullet in the brain of low-life burglar Freddy Russell. Although he’s hailed as a small-town hero, Dane soon finds himself fearing for his family’s safety when Freddy’s ex-con father, Ben, rolls into town, hell-bent on revenge.

    Michael C. Hall brings a shell-shocked vulnerability to his portrayal of Dane that contrasts perfectly with the grizzled badasses portrayed by Sam Shepard and Don Johnson. Directed with an excellent eye for the visual poetry of noir, this pulpy, southern-fried mystery is a throwback to an older breed of action film, one where every punch and shotgun blast opens up both physical and spiritual wounds. Twists and turns accelerate as the film reaches its inevitable destination: a gore-soaked dead end. Cold in July is as muggy, oppressive, and hard to shake as an east Texas summer.
    - C.H.

    About the Director

    Jim Mickle returns to the Sundance Film Festival for a second year, following his 2013 critical smash We Are What We Are, which also played in the Directors' Fortnight at the Cannes Film Festival prior to its theatrical release by Entertainment One. His previous feature, Stake Land, won the 2010 Toronto International Film Festival's Midnight Madness award and was distributed by IFC Films. Mickle, an alumus of NYU's Tisch School of the Arts, first earned acclaim for his 2006 debut feature, Mulberry Street.

    Cast and Credits

    Director: Jim Mickle

    Screenwriters: Jim Mickle, Nick Damici

    Producers: Linda Moran, René Bastian, Marie Savare de Laitre, Adam Folk

    Executive Producers: Jean-Baptiste Babin, Emilie Georges, Manuel Chiche, David Atlan-Jackson, Joël Thibout

    Cinematographer: Ryan Samul

    Editors: John Paul Horstmann, Jim Mickle

    Composer: Jeff Grace

    Production Designer: Russell Barnes

    Principal Cast: Michael C. Hall, Don Johnson, Sam Shepard, Vinessa Shaw, Nick Damici, Wyatt Russell

    Contact: Linda Moran / linda@belladonna.bz